Skiplink Navigation

Main Features

No more controls on Swiss-Liechtenstein border

As of Monday, travellers can once again enjoy passport-free travel from Switzerland to Liechtenstein.

Liechtenstein, whose capital Vaduz lies on a bus route between the eastern Swiss towns of Sargans and Buchs, has joined the Schengen area to which Switzerland has belonged for the past three years.

Under the Schengen agreement people can move between member states without having to show travel or identity documents.

Now that Liechtenstein has joined too, video monitors on the bridges over the Rhine between the two countries have been dismantled, and the mobile controls in the border area have been reduced to what they were three years ago.

Switzerland and Liechtenstein have been in a customs union since 1923, and share the same currency.

Liechtenstein is the fourth non-European Union country to join Schengen after Switzerland, Norway and Iceland. The zone now has 26 members. and agencies

Neuer Inhalt

Horizontal Line

SWI on Instagram

SWI on Instagram

SWI on Instagram

subscription form

Form for signing up for free newsletter.

Sign up for our free newsletters and get the top stories delivered to your inbox.

Click here to see more newsletters