Jump to content
Changing Rio
Loading
A Story by

Summer Olympics 2016

Changing Rio

Michael von Graffenried


Rio de Janeiro in an Olympic year. A city in turmoil. A first image dwells on the prefab slabs of concrete for new underground lines. It’s not enough to build only sports-related installations – the entire city has to be fitted out with new routes above and below the surface. It’s not a question of just transporting visitors and athletes to the Games, but above all of bringing together the 12 million inhabitants of this megalopolis. Having been abandoned, the harbour district has been brought back to life and the harbour itself redeveloped to transform Rio into a cultural and financial centre. The city needs to shine with all the power and beauty which made it famous before 1960, when it was still the capital of Brazil. In the favelas, a broad policy known as “pacification” has been implemented to put an end to the image of the “Cidade Partida”, a city divided into rich and poor. For a long time Rio has been the symbol of social injustice. Will it emerge the big winner of the Olympic Games, a modern and harmonious city? Or will we remember a great event but without anything really changing? The Swiss photographer Michael von Graffenried used the justification of this turmoil to focus his gaze on the megalopolis. The fascinating result is this series of panoramic photographs of the two sides of Rio de Janeiro at crunch time.

Link to the book

 (www.mvgphoto.com)
 (www.mvgphoto.com)
 (www.mvgphoto.com)

Usain Bolt, Jamaican sprinter

“... I think there’s no more I can do to prove I'm a great athlete. But I think that if I want to be at the level of Pelé, Ali and all those guys, I need to defend my titles at least once more and do something that nobody has done before. This is my focus and that is what I will do in Brazil ...”

 (www.mvgphoto.com)

Thomas Bach, IOC president 

“... There is strong support for the Olympic Games in Brazil and we have expectations of working with the new government to carry out a successful Olympics in Rio ...”


 (© Michael von Graffenried, www.mvgphoto.com)

Dilma Rousseff, former president of Brazil

“I will be very sad because I think we did a very good job. (...) I would love to participate in the Games because I helped build them. From the moment we accepted the list of responsibilities, I was present as chief of staff.”

 (www.mvgphoto.com)
 (© Michael von Graffenried, www.mvgphoto.com)
 (www.mvgphoto.com)

Alvaro Dias,  politician

“The Olympics have already been held in Japan, Britain and other places. Japan even said it was able to hold them. And if there isn’t a plan B, it’s not our problem. The problem for Brazil is to preserve our resources, public money, and set priorities. We can’t afford to hold a party to which the people were not invited.”

 (www.mvgphoto.com)
 (© Michael von Graffenried, www.mvgphoto.com)
 (© Michael von Graffenried, www.mvgphoto.com)

The Guardian

“With 100 days to go until the Olympic Games, Rio de Janeiro enters the final straight looking more like a classic banana republic than a modern emerging economy about to take its seat among the world leaders.”

 (www.mvgphoto.com)

Pau Gasol, Spanish basketballer player

“I am considering not going to Rio de Janeiro because of the Zika virus.”

 (www.mvgphoto.com)
 (www.mvgphoto.com)
 (www.mvgphoto.com)

André Regli, Swiss ambassador to Brazil

“... The Olympics will provide an oxygen load to the Brazilian people in this difficult economic situation ...”

 (www.mvgphoto.com)

Luiz Inácio Lula da Silva, former Brazilian president, speaking in 2009

“... Our time has come! It has come! Among the ten largest economies in the world, Brazil is the only country that has not hosted the Olympic and Paralympic Games ...”

 (www.mvgphoto.com)

Edouardo Paes, mayor of Rio de Janeiro

“... The Olympics always means an opportunity to transform the city ...”

 (www.mvgphoto.com)

Christophe Vauthey, Swiss deputy consul general

“... The cornerstone of the Olympic project was the urban transformation that Rio de Janeiro had not had for decades ...”

 (www.mvgphoto.com)

John Coates, IOC vice-president

“... It’s the worst preparation I've ever experienced ... We have become very concerned. They are not ready in many, many ways ... In Athens, we were dealing with one government and some city responsibilities. In Rio, there are three levels of government [federal, state and city] ...”


 (© Michael von Graffenried, www.mvgphoto.com)

Photographer

Michael von Graffenried, www.mvgphoto.com

Production

Thomas Kern
Felipe Schärer Diem

Aller directement au contenu
Changing Rio
Chargement
Un article de

Jeux olympiques d'été de 2016

La métamorphose de Rio

Michael von Graffenried

«La pierre angulaire du projet olympique était cette transformation urbaine que Rio de Janeiro n’avait plus connue depuis des décennies.»

Christophe Vauthey, consul général adjoint de Suisse

Rio de Janeiro en année olympique. Une ville en plein bouleversement. Une première photo s’attarde sur des éléments préfabriqués en béton pour les nouvelles lignes de métro. Car il ne suffit pas de construire des installations sportives. Il faut équiper toute la ville de nouvelles voies de transport souterraines ou de surface. Il s’agit non seulement d’acheminer les visiteurs et les participants aux Jeux, mais surtout de rapprocher les quelque 12 millions d’habitants de cette mégalopole. À l’abandon, le quartier du port a été ramené à la vie et le port lui-même réhabilité pour transformer Rio en centre culturel et d’affaires. La ville devrait rayonner de toute la force et la beauté qui faisaient sa célébrité avant 1960, lorsqu’elle était encore la capitale du Brésil. Dans les favelas, une vaste politique dite de « pacification » a été mise en œuvre pour en finir avec l’image de la « Cidade Partida », la ville séparée entre riches et pauvres. Pendant longtemps Rio a été le symbole de l’injustice sociale. La métropole brésilienne sortira-t-elle grande gagnante des Jeux olympiques, en ville moderne et harmonieuse ? Ou ne nous souviendrons-nous que du grand événement international mais sans que rien n’ait vraiment changé ? Le photographe Michael von Graffenried a pris le prétexte de ce grand bouleversement pour concentrer son regard sur la mégalopole. Le résultat, fascinant, ce sont de grandes photographies panoramiques recto verso de Rio de Janeiro à l’heure zéro.

Le livre

 (www.mvgphoto.com)
 (www.mvgphoto.com)
 (www.mvgphoto.com)

Usain Bolt, sprinter jamaïcain

«Je pense qu’il n’y a rien de plus que je puisse faire pour prouver que je suis un excellent athlète. Mais je pense que si je veux être au niveau de Pelé, d’Ali et de tous ces gars-là, je dois défendre mes titres au moins une fois encore et faire quelque chose que personne n’avait fait auparavant. C’est mon intention et c’est ce que je ferai au Brésil.»

 (www.mvgphoto.com)

Thomas Bach, président du Comité international olympique

«Il y a un fort soutien aux Jeux olympiques du Brésil et nous sommes dans l’expectative de travailler avec le nouveau gouvernement pour réaliser des olympiades réussies à Rio.» 


 (© Michael von Graffenried, www.mvgphoto.com)

Dilma Rousseff, présidente destituée du Brésil

«Je serai très triste, car nous avons fait, je pense, un très bon travail. J’aimerais beaucoup participer à ces Jeux que j’ai contribué à mettre sur pied à partir du moment où nous avons accepté cette responsabilité.» 

 (www.mvgphoto.com)
 (© Michael von Graffenried, www.mvgphoto.com)
 (www.mvgphoto.com)

Alvaro Dias, sénateur du PSDB

«S’il n’y a pas de plan B, ce n’est pas notre problème. Le problème du Brésil est de préserver ses ressources, l’argent public, d’établir des priorités. Nous ne pouvons pas nous permettre le luxe de faire une fête à laquelle le peuple n’a pas été convié.»

 (www.mvgphoto.com)
 (© Michael von Graffenried, www.mvgphoto.com)
 (© Michael von Graffenried, www.mvgphoto.com)

The Guardian

«A 100 jours des Jeux olympiques, Rio de Janeiro entre dans la dernière ligne droite en ressemblant plus à une république bananière classique qu’à une économie émergente moderne sur le point d’assumer sa place parmi les meilleures du monde.»

 (www.mvgphoto.com)

Pau Gasol, joueur de basketball de NBA et de l'équipe d'Espagne

«J’envisage de ne pas aller à Rio de Janeiro en août en raison du virus zika.»

 (www.mvgphoto.com)
 (www.mvgphoto.com)
 (www.mvgphoto.com)

André Regli, ambassadeur de Suisse au Brésil

«Les Jeux olympiques donneront une bouffée d’oxygène au peuple brésilien dans cette situation économique difficile.»

 (www.mvgphoto.com)

Luiz Inácio Lula da Silva, ancien président du Brésil

«Notre heure est arrivée. Elle est arrivée! Parmi les dix principales économies mondiales, le Brésil est le seul pays qui n’a pas accueilli les Jeux olympiques et paralympiques.»

 (www.mvgphoto.com)

Edouardo Paes, maire de Rio de Janeiro

«Les Jeux olympiques ont toujours signifié pour nous une opportunité de transformer notre ville.» 

 (www.mvgphoto.com)

Christophe Vauthey, consul général adjoint de Suisse

«La pierre angulaire du projet olympique était cette transformation urbaine que Rio de Janeiro n’avait plus connue depuis des décennies.»

 (www.mvgphoto.com)

John Coates, vice-président du Comité international olympique

«C’est la pire préparation que j’ai vécue. Nous sommes très préoccupés. Ils ne sont pas prêts dans beaucoup de domaines. A Athènes, nous avions dû faire face à un gouvernement et quelques responsables municipaux. A Rio, il existe trois sphères gouvernementales.»


 (© Michael von Graffenried, www.mvgphoto.com)

Photographe

Michael von Graffenried, www.mvgphoto.com

Production

Thomas Kern
Felipe Schärer Diem