A1 Grand Prix title won for first time

Switzerland have won the A1 Grand Prix title for the first time, building an unassailable lead after the motor racing sprint race at Britain's Brands Hatch.

This content was published on May 4, 2008 minutes

Neel Jani finished fourth in the first race on Sunday – behind Robbie Kerr of Britain, Jonathan Summerton of the United States and Adam Carroll of Ireland – but it was enough to clinch the overall title for Switzerland before the main race.

"It's absolutely outstanding," Switzerland's team principal Max Welti said. "It's such a great feeling, you just cannot believe it ... We're writing a page in the history books."

New Zealand was the only team that could have overhauled Switzerland in the final round of the season, but had to finish at least second in the sprint race. However, Jonny Reid finished eighth.

A1 racing features a 22-nation field competing over ten rounds. There are two races each round: a 19-minute sprint race and a feature race taking a maximum of 69 minutes. A1 differs from Formula One and the MotoGP because all competitors race in the same style of car, with the same engine and the same brand of tyres.

France won the debut competition in 2006 and Germany won in 2007.

In compliance with the JTI standards

In compliance with the JTI standards

More: SWI certified by the Journalism Trust Initiative

Contributions under this article have been turned off. You can find an overview of ongoing debates with our journalists here. Please join us!

If you want to start a conversation about a topic raised in this article or want to report factual errors, email us at

Share this story

Change your password

Do you really want to delete your profile?