Cabinet ministers lauded for nuclear decision

Four cabinet ministers have won the European Solar Prize for their role in Switzerland’s decision to abandon nuclear power.

This content was published on October 10, 2011 - 08:58 and agencies

President and Foreign Minister Micheline Calmy-Rey, Justice Minister Simonetta Sommaruga, Environment Minister Doris Leuthard and Finance Minister Eveline Widmer-Schlumpf will be presented with the prize by industry foundation the Swiss Solar Agency in Berlin in December.

Swiss Solar Agency director Gallus Cadonau said the decision to abandon the use of nuclear power was “extraordinary on a European level” and sent a clear signal that energy policies had reached a turning point.

The European Solar Prize was first awarded in 1994, following a decision by the European Parliament to actively encourage the development of renewable energies.

The establishment of the prize followed the example of the Swiss Solar Prizes which were set up in 1991 to encourage energy efficiency, the development of renewable energies and climate protection.

In compliance with the JTI standards

In compliance with the JTI standards

More: SWI certified by the Journalism Trust Initiative

You can find an overview of ongoing debates with our journalists here. Please join us!

If you want to start a conversation about a topic raised in this article or want to report factual errors, email us at

Sort by

Change your password

Do you really want to delete your profile?

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Almost finished... We need to confirm your email address. To complete the subscription process, please click the link in the email we just sent you.

Discover our weekly must-reads for free!

Sign up to get our top stories straight into your mailbox.

The SBC Privacy Policy provides additional information on how your data is processed.