EFTA eases trade with eastern European countries

EFTA and eastern European ministers toast a new trade agreement Keystone

The European Free Trade Association, meeting in Zurich, has approved a series of measures to strengthen trade with Croatia, Macedonia and Ukraine. The moves were announced by Switzerland, one of the four members of the group.

This content was published on June 20, 2000 - 11:06

Ministers from the EFTA countries - Norway, Iceland, Liechtenstein and Switzerland - on Monday signed a free trade agreement with Macedonia, and agreed to work more closely with Croatia and Ukraine.

The meeting, chaired by Switzerland, focussed on relations with countries outside the European Union. EFTA is currently holding talks with 10 countries on ways of strengthening bilateral trade.

One of the countries with which a pact is being negotiated is Canada. Sources at the meeting said an accord was close, and if concluded, would be the first between the trade bloc and a country on the other side of the Atlantic.

Other countries being targeted as potential partners include Mexico and South Africa. Discussions on free trade accords are also underway with a number of Arab Mediterranean states.

EFTA has steadily lost economic importance because its members have defected to the European Union over the years. It still accounts for more than two per cent of world trade and plays a major role in areas such as chemicals, financial services, shipbuilding and fisheries.

swissinfo with agencies

This article was automatically imported from our old content management system. If you see any display errors, please let us know:

In compliance with the JTI standards

In compliance with the JTI standards

More: SWI certified by the Journalism Trust Initiative

Contributions under this article have been turned off. You can find an overview of ongoing debates with our journalists here. Please join us!

If you want to start a conversation about a topic raised in this article or want to report factual errors, email us at

Share this story

Change your password

Do you really want to delete your profile?