Skiplink Navigation

Main Features

Five pillars Traditional Chinese medicine

Traditional Chinese medicine was developed over 2,000 years ago. Its original zone of diffusion included Vietnam, Korea and Japan, and these countries eventually developed their own individual variations on it.

Traditional Chinese medicine is based on five pillars: treatment using traditional medicine; acupuncture and moxibustion; dietetics; physical exercises (like Qi Gong and Tai Chi); and massage and cupping techniques.

Today, traditional Chinese medicine is the most widespread type of traditional medicine in the world, thanks in particular to acupuncture.

The Chinese Academy for Traditional Medicine in Nankin is the biggest research centre dedicated to these therapeutic techniques. 

Neuer Inhalt

Horizontal Line

The citizens' meeting

How the Swiss are moving back to the mountains

How the Swiss are moving back to the mountains

subscription form

Form for signing up for free newsletter.

Sign up for our free newsletters and get the top stories delivered to your inbox.

Click here to see more newsletters