Leading Swiss Artists of the Concert Stage - Peter-Lukas Graf (MH 14/1973)


Flautist Peter-Lukas Graf, born 1929 in Zurich, achieved fame at an early age.

This content was published on March 19, 2008 - 14:42

In 1950 he completed his musical studies at the Paris Conservatory, winning first prizes ("Premiers Prix") for flute and conducting. Subsequently he won first prizes at the contests of Munich and London. Since 1966 he has been successfully combining both careers, as a solo flautist and conductor, with increasing international recognition.

Musical content

1. J. S. Bach: Badinerie. From Suite no. 2 in B minor
Peter-Lukas Graf, flute and conductor; English Chamber Orchestra
2. Peter-Lukas Graf speaks
3. Georg Friederich Handel: Adagio and Alla breve from Sonata for Flute and Continuo in B minor
Peter-Lukas Graf, flute; Jörg Ewald Dähler, harpischord; Manfred Sax, bassoon
4. Claude Debussy: Syrinx (for solo flute)
Peter-Lukas Graf, flute
5. Peter-Lukas Graf speaks
6. Arthur Honegger: Danse de la chèvre - Dance of the Goat (for solo flute)
Peter-Lukas Graf, flute
7. Serge Prokofief: Scherzo. From Sonata for Flute and Piano, op. 94
Peter-Lukas Graf, flute; Urs Vögelin, piano
8. Peter-Lukas Graf speaks
9. Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Andante in C major for Flute and Orchestra, K. 315
Peter-Lukas Graf, flute and conductor; Lausanne Chamber Orchestra

Production information

Musica Helvetia MH 14. Leading Swiss Artists of the Concert Stage. Peter-Lukas Graf (flute). Produced 1973 for SBC / SRI by Lance Tschannen and Nicolas Lombard.

Background information

Switzerland is a small alpine nation shaped and influenced by great cultural cross-currents that have swept through Europe over centuries. Out of elements of diversity, the people of this country have forged a distinctly Swiss identity. And music is one of its most eloquent expressions. "Musica Helvetica" explores different facets of music in Switzerland from its earliest beginnings to the latest works of modern Swiss composers, from folk music to rock and jazz. This historical series span the years 1973 to 1998. These recordings are not available.

In compliance with the JTI standards

In compliance with the JTI standards

More: SWI certified by the Journalism Trust Initiative

Contributions under this article have been turned off. You can find an overview of ongoing debates with our journalists here. Please join us!

If you want to start a conversation about a topic raised in this article or want to report factual errors, email us at

Share this story

Change your password

Do you really want to delete your profile?