External Content

The following content is sourced from external partners. We cannot guarantee that it is suitable for the visually or hearing impaired.

Brazil's President Michel Temer attends the ceremony for the inauguration of the new President of the Brazilian National Development Bank (BNDES) Dyogo Henrique de Oliveira, in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil April 9, 2018. REUTERS/Ricardo Moraes


SAO PAULO (Reuters) - Brazilian President Michel Temer has officially nominated 11 new ministers, the government's official bulletin said on Tuesday, giving continuity to the government's reform programme ahead of the general elections in October.

While the names were previously known, the formal nomination will allow the officials to take up their posts at a ceremony scheduled for 3 p.m. local time (1800 GMT).

It is common in Brazil to see heavy ministerial turnover during an election year, as ministers leave office in order to run for elected positions.

Among the ministers nominated are the following: Marcos Jorge de Lima as industry and commerce minister, Wellington Moreira Franco as mining and energy minister, Eduardo Guardia as finance minister, Esteves Colnago as planning minister, and Helton Yomura as labour minister.

(Reporting by Gram Slattery; Editing by Bernadette Baum)

Neuer Inhalt

Horizontal Line

swissinfo EN

Teaser Join us on Facebook!

Join us on Facebook!

subscription form

Form for signing up for free newsletter.

Sign up for our free newsletters and get the top stories delivered to your inbox.

Click here to see more newsletters