Switzerland through to Davis Cup World Group

Stanislas Wawrinka has won the final match of the Davis Cup tie against Australia to qualify Switzerland for the World Group at the Davis Cup next year.

This content was published on September 19, 2011 - 08:00 and agencies

In a match suspended by darkness on Sunday, Wawrinka and Australia’s Lleyton Hewitt returned to the court on Monday with Wawrinka leading 5-3 in the fifth set. He needed just four minutes to finish the match, promptly breaking Hewitt’s serve to win 4-6, 6-4, 6-7 (7-9), 6-4, 6-3.

It is the first time Switzerland has beaten Australia in a Davis Cup tie.

Roger Federer evened the tie at 2-2 with Australia earlier on Sunday when he beat Bernard Tomic in four sets. The Swiss doubles team of Federer and Wawrinka – the current Olympic champions – had been beaten on Saturday by Hewitt and Chris Guccione in the doubles.

The Davis Cup World Group consists of 16 teams. Switzerland lost its place in the group last year, beaten by Kazakhstan in the playoffs.
Australia has been seeking to regain its place since 2007.

This article was automatically imported from our old content management system. If you see any display errors, please let us know:

In compliance with the JTI standards

In compliance with the JTI standards

More: SWI certified by the Journalism Trust Initiative

Contributions under this article have been turned off. You can find an overview of ongoing debates with our journalists here. Please join us!

If you want to start a conversation about a topic raised in this article or want to report factual errors, email us at

Share this story

Change your password

Do you really want to delete your profile?