The Musical Past of Switzerland (MH 1/1972)


This first programme of the "Musica Helvetica" series spans a period of over thousand years.

This content was published on March 31, 2010 - 18:14

It outlines the development of serious music in Switzerland from earliest liturgic songs to the classical sounds of an 18th century opera buffa on a rustic Swiss theme.

Musical content

1. Bell of Wagenhausen, Canton Thurgau
2. Anonymus (9th c): Psallat Ecclesia Mater
3. Codex Beromünster (13th c): Cunctipotens Genitor
4. Rudolf von Fenis (12th c): Minne gebuitet mir daz ich singe
5. Ludwig Senfl (16th c): Sanctus from Missa Pascalis
6. Loys Bourgeois (16th c): Veu que du tout en Dieu
7. Jean-Jacques Rousseau (18th c): Le Devin du Village
8. Franz Joseph Leonti Meyer von Schauensee (18th c): Aria of Baschi from Engelberger Talhochzeit
9. Carillon of Conthey, Canton Wallis/Valais

Production information

Musica Helvetica MH 1. The Musical Past of Switzerland. Produced 1972 for SBC / SRI by Lance Tschannen and Nicolas Lombard.

Background information

Switzerland is a small alpine nation shaped and influenced by great cultural cross-currents that have swept through Europe over centuries. Out of elements of diversity, the people of this country have forged a distinctly Swiss identity. And music is one of its most eloquent expressions. "Musica Helvetica" explores different facets of music in Switzerland from its earliest beginnings to the latest works of modern Swiss composers, from folk music to rock and jazz. This historical series span the years 1972 to 1998. These recordings are not available.

This article was automatically imported from our old content management system. If you see any display errors, please let us know:

Share this story

Join the conversation!

With a SWI account, you have the opportunity to contribute on our website.

You can Login or register here.