My plot of land
Loading
A story by

Allotments

My plot of land


For years, allotment gardens were considered a symbol of the Swiss bourgeoisie, but times have changed. Now, people of all nations appreciate them as place to withdraw and relax. Vito from Italy, Birsen from Turkey, Vaz from Portugal and other allotment enthusiasts talk about their individual plots of land. 

Colourful national flags are flapping in the wind in one allotment at the foot of the Uetliberg near Zurich. The warm temperatures have attracted amateur gardeners who groom their plots of land and work away busily. Flowers radiate from every corner. Vegetables and salads grow like weeds. Children run around and the smells of charcoal and herbs fill the air.

Vito Crudo, from Italy

“I have had my allotment for three years. It’s great! I love the view and the fresh vegetables. Here I get some headspace and it is a joy to see everything grow. My little daughter loves playing with our neighbours’ girl and the two can run around to their hearts’ content. It’s important for children to have this space.”

End of quote


Diana and Andreas Bandomir, from Poland 

"We sold our house with a garden nine years ago. As I missed our garden so much, we looked for an allotment. I love the biotope here with its frogs and fish. My husband looks after our organic vegetables and I make fruit compote. It is delicious. We have nice neighbours, a great view and, apart from the roses, we don’t treat anything with pesticides.”

End of quote





Allotment gardens have not always been a place of leisure, though. In the 19th century, local farmers had to be self-sufficient just like factory workers years later. In urban areas, working families used to grow potatoes and other vegetables on small plots of land on the outskirts of the cities. Back then, it was important to offer some green areas for workers living on housing estates. Gardening was supposed to make employees work hard, to develop a sense of family and to keep them away from alcohol and politics. The German term for allotment - Schrebergarten - comes from the German paediatrician Moritz Schreber. He argued that hard physical labour would suppress lust and desire, a theory that remains quite controversial today.


René and Evi Braun, from Switzerland

"We grow most of our food ourselves. It tastes much better than what you buy in the supermarket. We love nature and we have had the allotment for three years. It’s a great place to create some headspace. Our grown-up sons also come here to have barbeques with their friends.”

End of quote




Murat and Birsen Lavanur, from Turkey

“We have had the allotment for two years and we still have to learn a lot. It is not as easy as it seems. We enjoy cooking and having barbeques here in these cosy surroundings. We like working in the garden and we share all the work. Our kids can spend some time in nature and can run around freely.”

End of quote




In Switzerland, amateur gardeners joined up to form associations, which led to the creation of a Swiss umbrella association in 1925. Now, 24,500 members and the equivalent of around 900 football fields belong to the Swiss Association of Allotment Gardeners. The plots of land are also a social institution for tenants to spend their free-time in a creative and productive environment. 

Allotments are not only the green lungs of a city, they also reflect society and the age we live in. They are also instrumental for the integration and social interaction in communities and city quarters. The umbrella association works on projects providing space for children, the elderly and refugees.


Sebastian Suva, from Romania

"I am on the board of our Allotment Association, as it is important to get involved. We need some rules so that everyone can peacefully work side by side. I have had my allotment for five years. I want my children to know how things grow, what they eat and that their food needs looking after. It is a great balance to my professional life as it allows me to think about other things. I also like coming here in winter.”

End of quote



Pedro and Tavares Goncalvez, from Portugal

“Our garden is simply a lot of fun! We love making pizza and getting together with our friends and families. This is important in life! Here we can relax from everyday life and sit in the sun. Our kids also like coming here.”

End of quote




However, such idyllic places are not always free of conflict. Many young people and families renting allotments do not have enough time to groom their green spaces according to the required standards and get reprimanded by the authorities. They often prefer to organise barbeques than to weed their gardens. Combining the multicultural mix and the different requirements is not always easy, which is why many allotments in Switzerland have strict rules.


Theiler family, from Switzerland

"We have been members of the association since the creation of this allotment in 1965. The vegetables, lovely flowers and our relaxation are priceless! We really appreciate our neighbours and their helpfulness. The only downside is getting the allotment ready for the winter. It’s a lot of work.”

End of quote



Vaz, from Portugal

"I have a bad back, which makes gardening quite difficult for me. However, I like being here and I have been coming for twelve years. My dog and I often sit here and reflect on things.”

End of quote


Photographs and text

Ester Unterfinger, swissinfo.ch

Production

Felipe Schärer Diem
Sylvie Stark

Jardins familiaux
Chargement
Un article de

Jardins familiaux

Ma petite parcelle


Les jardins familiaux. Pendant longtemps, ils ont été un symbole de la petite bourgeoisie suisse. Aujourd’hui, ils sont appréciés par toutes les nationalités comme lieu de repos et de délassement. Vito l’Italien, Birsen la Turque et Vaz le Portugais racontent.

Multicolores, les drapeaux de tous les pays flottent au vent au-dessus des jardins familiaux au pied de l’Uetliberg, près de Zurich. La météo estivale a attiré les jardinières et jardiniers du dimanche sur leurs parcelles et l’on s’affaire partout avec application. Les fleurs illuminent les allées, les légumes et les salades s’épanouissent dans les carrés. Les enfants gambadent un peu partout et ça sent le feu au charbon de bois. Une ambiance joyeuse flotte dans l’air parfumé aux herbes. 

Vito Crudo, Italie

«J’ai mon jardin depuis trois ans. C’est génial! La vue, les légumes frais… On a la tête libre. Ça fait plaisir de voir les choses s’épanouir. Ma petite fille aime aussi jouer avec les petites des voisins, elle peut se défouler ici. C’est important que les enfants aient de la place».

Fin de la citation


Diana et Andreas Bandomir, Pologne

«Nous avons vendu notre maison il y a neuf ans et nous n’avions donc plus de jardin. Cela me manquait tellement que nous avons cherché un jardin familial. J’aime mon biotope avec ses grenouilles et ses poissons. Mon mari s’occupe des légumes bio, et moi, je fais les smoothies. C’est très bon! Nous avons des voisins sympas, une vue géniale, et à part pour les roses, nous n’utilisons aucun poison».

Fin de la citation





Les jardins familiaux n’ont pas toujours été un lieu purement dédié aux loisirs: au 19e siècle, les familles ouvrières étaient dépendantes de leur production. Elles pouvaient faire pousser leurs pommes de terre et leurs légumes sur leurs parcelles en périphérie des villes. A l’époque, on veillait à mettre des espaces de jardin à disposition des habitants des logements ouvriers. Le jardinage était censé développer l’ardeur au travail et le sens de la famille et tenir les ouvriers à l’écart de l’alcool et de la politique. En allemand, jardins familiaux se dit d’ailleurs «Schrebergärten», du nom d’un pédiatre allemand aujourd’hui controversé, Moritz Schreber, qui préconisait une activité physique intense pour réprimer les tentations du désir et de la luxure.


René et Evi Braun, Suisse

«Nous produisons nous-mêmes presque tout ce que nous mangeons. C’est tellement bon, rien à voir avec ce qui vient du supermarché. Nous aimons la nature et nous avons le jardin depuis trois ans. Ici, on peut magnifiquement s’aérer le cerveau. Nos fils adultes viennent pour faire des grillades entre amis».

Fin de la citation




Murat et Birsen Lavanur, Turquie

«Nous avons le jardin depuis deux ans et nous avons encore beaucoup à apprendre. Ce n’est pas aussi facile que ça en a l’air. Nous préférons cuisiner et griller ici, c’est agréable. Nous faisons tout avec plaisir et ensemble. Les enfants sont dans la nature et peuvent jouer librement».

Fin de la citation




En Suisse, les petits jardiniers se sont organisés en associations et ont fondé une faîtière nationale dès 1925. La Fédération suisse des jardins familiaux (FSJF) compte aujourd’hui 24'500 membres, qui exploitent ensemble une surface équivalant à environ 900 terrains de football. En tant qu’institution sociale, elle offre à ses membres la possibilité d’utiliser leurs loisirs de manière créative et productive.

Les jardins familiaux sont les poumons verts d’une ville. Ils sont aussi un miroir de la société et de l’époque. Ils constituent un important lieu d’intégration dans les communes et les quartiers. La FSJF travaille sur des projets qui donnent de l’espace aux enfants, aux personnes âgées et aux réfugiés.


Sebastian Suva, Roumanie

«Je suis au Comité de l’association des jardins; c’est important de s’engager. Ici aussi, il faut des règles, pour œuvrer les uns à côté des autres en paix. J’ai le jardin depuis cinq ans. Je veux que mes enfants sachent comment les choses qu’ils mangent poussent et quels soins elles nécessitent. Pour moi, c’est une compensation par rapport au travail, je peux penser à d’autres choses. Même en hiver, je vais volontiers au jardin».

Fin de la citation



Pedro et Tavares Goncalvez, Portugal

«Le jardin, c’est simplement un plaisir! Ce que nous préférons, c’est faire de la pizza et de fêter avec nos amis et la famille. C’est important de vivre! Ici, nous nous reposons du quotidien, nous sommes au soleil, et nos enfants viennent aussi volontiers».

Fin de la citation




Mais cette idylle ne va pas toujours complètement sans conflits. Beaucoup de jeunes et de familles qui louent un petit jardin n’ont pas assez de temps pour en prendre soin selon les règles et se voient exhortés de le tenir en ordre. Ils préfèrent passer une agréable soirée barbecue entre amis sur leur espace vert que d’arracher des mauvaises herbes. Dans un contexte fortement multiculturel, il n’est pas toujours facile de concilier les différents besoins. C’est pourquoi de nombreux jardins familiaux en Suisse restent attachés à une discipline assez stricte.


Famille Theiler, Suisse

«Depuis la fondation de ces jardins familiaux en 1965, nous sommes membres de l’association. Nous aimerions tout autant rester ici pour toujours. Les légumes, les belles fleurs et le repos, ça n’a pas de prix! Nous apprécions beaucoup le bon voisinage et le fait que tout le monde soit prêt à donner un coup de main. Mais les rangements d’automne, c’est quand même beaucoup de travail». 

Fin de la citation



Vaz, Portugal

«J’ai de gros problèmes de dos, c’est pourquoi je ne peux plus aussi bien jardiner. Mais je viens volontiers ici et ceci depuis 12 ans. Je viens souvent m’asseoir avec mon chien et réfléchir».

Fin de la citation


Photos et textes

Ester Unterfinger, swissinfo.ch

Production

Felipe Schärer Diem
Sylvie Stark