Skiplink Navigation

Main Features

Airports declared Schengen-compliant

Air passengers will no longer have to show their passports when flying between Switzerland and other countries belonging to the Schengen area as of March 29.

The Justice Office said on Tuesday that experts from Schengen countries had approved measures taken by the airports at Zurich, Geneva and Basel to ensure they comply with the rules for internal flights.

Under the rules, systematic checks are only carried out on travellers leaving or entering the Schengen area, which now has 25 member states.

Approval has been granted in time for the new summer timetable.

Switzerland officially joined the Schengen area last December. The Schengen agreement makes travel between member states easier, while stepping up cross-border police cooperation and tightening external controls.

Switzerland, Iceland and Norway are the only members that do not also belong to the European Union.

Neuer Inhalt

Horizontal Line

subscription form

Form for signing up for free newsletter.

Sign up for our free newsletters and get the top stories delivered to your inbox.

Click here to see more newsletters