France nets 2016 European football bonanza

The Swiss-based governing body of European football, Uefa, has chosen France to host the 2016 European championship.

This content was published on May 28, 2010 - 17:31

It will be the first time that 24 teams will compete in the tournament, Uefa said after a news conference in Geneva on Friday.

Italy were eliminated in the first ballot of Uefa executive committee members, meaning France and Turkey entered a second ballot where a simple majority was required to earn the right to stage the tournament.

France won by a majority of one from the 13 votes cast.

“I want first to thank our friends from Italy and Turkey; I feel for them and the feelings of frustration and sadness after months of work and I wish Italian and Turkish football good luck," said French Football Federation President Jean-Pierre Escalettes.

“For us it is a moment of intense emotions, given that in 2016 we will welcome European football to France. We will fulfil our promises and we thank our friends on the executive committee at Uefa. They have put their trust in us and that's what counts for us.”

The last Uefa Euro Championships in 2008 were co-hosted by Switzerland and Austria, with Spain beating Germany 1-0 in the final in Vienna. Uefa is based at Nyon on Lake Geneva.

Articles in this story

This article was automatically imported from our old content management system. If you see any display errors, please let us know:

In compliance with the JTI standards

In compliance with the JTI standards

More: SWI certified by the Journalism Trust Initiative

Contributions under this article have been turned off. You can find an overview of ongoing debates with our journalists here. Please join us!

If you want to start a conversation about a topic raised in this article or want to report factual errors, email us at

Share this story

Change your password

Do you really want to delete your profile?