Double tax accord signed with Norway

Switzerland has signed a revised double taxation agreement with Norway, easing the restrictions on the exchange of tax information between the two countries.

This content was published on September 2, 2009 - 15:41

It is the fourth of 12 such agreements Switzerland needs to sign in order to be removed from the "grey list" of tax havens established in April by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD).

Switzerland signed its first agreement with Denmark on August 21, followed by Luxembourg and France.

Agreements with Mexico, the United States, Japan, the Netherlands, Poland, Britain, Austria, Finland, Qatar and Singapore have been initialled but not yet signed.

The agreements all conform with Article 26 of the OECD's Model Tax Convention, which creates an obligation for countries to share relevant data for tax enforcement.

The cabinet has given permission to sign three more of these agreements, with Mexico, Britain and Austria. The others will be submitted to cabinet shortly, the finance ministry said in a statement. and agencies

In compliance with the JTI standards

In compliance with the JTI standards

More: SWI certified by the Journalism Trust Initiative

You can find an overview of ongoing debates with our journalists here. Please join us!

If you want to start a conversation about a topic raised in this article or want to report factual errors, email us at

Sort by

Change your password

Do you really want to delete your profile?

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Almost finished... We need to confirm your email address. To complete the subscription process, please click the link in the email we just sent you.

Discover our weekly must-reads for free!

Sign up to get our top stories straight into your mailbox.

The SBC Privacy Policy provides additional information on how your data is processed.