Swiss athletes win Swiss marathon championship title

Ethiopian Tefay Eticha crosses the finish line to win the International Marathon in Lausanne Keystone

Bruno Heuberger and Elisabeth Krieg on Sunday took the Swiss marathon championship title following their performances in the Lausanne Marathon. The race was won by Ethiopia's Eticha Tesfaye, while Russia's Irina Kazakova was the winner among the women.

This content was published on October 22, 2000 - 15:45

This was Krieg's fourth Swiss title. The runner from Muri also won the Swiss championships in 1992, 1993, and 1998. She came third in the marathon which was dominated by Kazakova, who also won the Jungfrau marathon in 1998.

Switzerland's Heuberger came fourth overall in Sunday's marathon in canton Vaud. Jonah Koech from Kenya came second while Sergej Kaledin from Ukraine came third.

Tesfaye won in a time of two hours and 16 minutes. Koech came in one hour and 16 minutes later. Kazakova held a strong lead among the women. She won in a time of two hours and 38 minutes while Ukraine's Skljarenko finished the race three and a half hours later.

swissinfo with agencies

This article was automatically imported from our old content management system. If you see any display errors, please let us know:

In compliance with the JTI standards

In compliance with the JTI standards

More: SWI certified by the Journalism Trust Initiative

Contributions under this article have been turned off. You can find an overview of ongoing debates with our journalists here. Please join us!

If you want to start a conversation about a topic raised in this article or want to report factual errors, email us at

Share this story

Change your password

Do you really want to delete your profile?