Christian Democrats win 13th Senate seat

The Christian Democratic Party’s Pirmin Bischof has won the run-off election for the second Senate seat of canton Solothurn.

This content was published on December 4, 2011 - 14:45 and agencies

Bischof’s win gives the Christian Democrats their 13th seat in the Senate, more than any other party in the Senate.

Bischof won the seat with 51.24 per cent of the vote, ahead of the Radical Party’s Kurt Fluri with 37.74 per cent and independent Peter Brudermann with 11 per cent of the vote.

The result is the first time in 163 years that the Radical Party, which now holds 11 seats in the Senate, has lost its Senate seat for Solothurn.

The Social Democrats’ Roberto Zanetti was reelected as a senator for Solothurn in the first round of voting.

This article was automatically imported from our old content management system. If you see any display errors, please let us know:

Comments under this article have been turned off. You can find an overview of ongoing debates with our journalists here. Please join us!

If you want to start a conversation about a topic raised in this article or want to report factual errors, email us at

Share this story

Join the conversation!

With a SWI account, you have the opportunity to contribute on our website.

You can Login or register here.