Maurice Steger: Venezia 1625

Early Baroque and birth of the "Stravaganze". Swiss Maurice Steger, "the world's leading recorder virtuoso", and his ensemble put much emphasis on the instrumental music of Venetia's golden age from the 16-17th century. The city then was a hotbed for avantgarde music, which eventually allowed the soloists to stretch beyond the former limitations of sentiment and virtuosity. "Venezia 1625" unites compositions - "sonate concertante in stile moderno" - by Dario Castello, Salomone Rossi, Tarquinio Merula, Marco Uccellini, Bernardo Storace, Alessandro Piccinini and Giovanni Battista Fontana.

This content was published on March 13, 2009 - 20:08

Sonata II, a Sopran solo

Maurice Steger, recorder

Contributions under this article have been turned off. You can find an overview of ongoing debates with our journalists here. Please join us!

If you want to start a conversation about a topic raised in this article or want to report factual errors, email us at

Share this story

Change your password

Do you really want to delete your profile?