Geneva professor wins "Nobel prize of maths"

A Geneva University professor is among four people to have been awarded mathematics’ prestigious Fields Medal for 2010.

This content was published on August 19, 2010 minutes

Stanislas Smirnov received the award on Thursday at the International
Congress of Mathematics in Hyderabad, India. Other recipients were Cedric Vilani and Ngo Bau Chau from Paris and Elon Lindenstrauss from Jerusalem.

The Fields Medal is considered the equivalent of the Nobel prize for mathematics and is awarded every four years to outstanding mathematicians under the age of 40.

Smirnov, who was born and studied in St Petersburg, was recognised for his “ingenious and astonishing work” in the field of statistical physics.

“The success of Stanislav in analyzing lattice models in statistical physics will undoubtedly be a stimulus for further work”, said a statement by the organisers. and agencies

In compliance with the JTI standards

In compliance with the JTI standards

More: SWI certified by the Journalism Trust Initiative

Contributions under this article have been turned off. You can find an overview of ongoing debates with our journalists here. Please join us!

If you want to start a conversation about a topic raised in this article or want to report factual errors, email us at

Share this story

Change your password

Do you really want to delete your profile?