Separation of powers

Separation of powers means how power is distributed horizontally and vertically among several actors. Horizontally this covers the executive, legislature and judiciary and vertically, the communes, cantons and the federal government.

This content was published on May 30, 2007 - 16:49

This article was automatically imported from our old content management system. If you see any display errors, please let us know:

In compliance with the JTI standards

In compliance with the JTI standards

More: SWI certified by the Journalism Trust Initiative

Contributions under this article have been turned off. You can find an overview of ongoing debates with our journalists here. Please join us!

If you want to start a conversation about a topic raised in this article or want to report factual errors, email us at

Share this story

Change your password

Do you really want to delete your profile?