Swiss perspectives in 10 languages

Geraldine Chaplin steps down from film prize jury

Géraldine Chaplin is out of the picture for 2002 Swiss cinema prize Keystone

Film star Geraldine Chaplin will not chair the jury of the 2002 Swiss cinema prize in Solothurn on January 16, because of film commitments.

She will be replaced by the actor Stefan Gubser.

Gubser, who is from the German-speaking part of Switzerland, is well-known for his cinema and television roles and was most recently seen in the film “Berezina”.

The six-member Swiss cinema prize jury for 2002 includes the president of the Swiss filmmakers association and director Matthias von Gunten; Geneva art historian Erika Deuber-Ziegler; journalist Florence Heiniger; film producer Tiziana Soudani and the academic and journalist, Vinzenz Hediger.

Nominations have already been announced for the prizes, which are given in five categories. The Best Fiction Film and the Best Documentary Film will each receive SFr50 000, SFr20,000 will be go to the Best Short Film, and there are SFr15,000 each for the Best Actor and Best Actress.

The Swiss cinema prize is a joint project involving eight organisations: They include the Federal Office for Culture; SSR idée Suisse; the Solothurn, Nyon and Locarno festivals; the Swiss Film Centre in cooperation with the Swiss Short Film Agency, and the Swiss Cultural Foundation for Audiovisual Media.

swissinfo with agencies

In compliance with the JTI standards

More: SWI certified by the Journalism Trust Initiative

You can find an overview of ongoing debates with our journalists here. Please join us!

If you want to start a conversation about a topic raised in this article or want to report factual errors, email us at

SWI - a branch of Swiss Broadcasting Corporation SRG SSR

SWI - a branch of Swiss Broadcasting Corporation SRG SSR