Skiplink Navigation

Main Features

Radio and TV concessions announced

Communications Minister Moritz Leuenberger has granted permission to 14 radio stations and seven television broadcasters to transmit programming until 2019.

Four stations – two radio and two television – lost their concessions but will still be allowed to retransmit their signals, the ministry announced on Friday.

The Swiss government limits the number of broadcasters using public airwaves per region and levies taxes on radio and television sets to help fund public broadcasting nationwide.

In 15 regions across the country two or more broadcasters had applied for a concessions licence. The stations that received licences are also entitled to as much as SFr3.3 million ($2.87 million) in federal assistance.

Broadcasters have the right to appeal to the Federal Court against Leuenberger's decision.


Neuer Inhalt

Horizontal Line

subscription form

Form for signing up for free newsletter.

Sign up for our free newsletters and get the top stories delivered to your inbox.

Click here to see more newsletters

The citizens' meeting

The citizens' meeting

The citizens' meeting