Swiss perspectives in 10 languages

Ticino recognised as a university canton

Part of the university of Ticino. Università della Svizzera italiana

The federal government has formally recognised the southern Italian-speaking canton of Ticino as a university canton.

The government’s move, announced on Wednesday, will permit Ticino to take part in decision-making processes, currently reserved to the country’s eight other cantons which have universities.

The decision is also expected to lead to an increase in government subsidies to the university of Ticino.

The university, which has three faculties – architecture, communications and economic sciences – was established in 1996.

Eight other cantons in Switzerland have universities. They are: Basel, Berne, Fribourg, Geneva, Neuchatel, St Gallen, Vaud and Zurich.

swissinfo with agencies

In compliance with the JTI standards

More: SWI certified by the Journalism Trust Initiative

You can find an overview of ongoing debates with our journalists here. Please join us!

If you want to start a conversation about a topic raised in this article or want to report factual errors, email us at

SWI - a branch of Swiss Broadcasting Corporation SRG SSR

SWI - a branch of Swiss Broadcasting Corporation SRG SSR