Skiplink Navigation

Main Features

Ticino recognised as a university canton

Part of the university of Ticino.

(University of Italian Switzerland)

The federal government has formally recognised the southern Italian-speaking canton of Ticino as a university canton.

The government's move, announced on Wednesday, will permit Ticino to take part in decision-making processes, currently reserved to the country's eight other cantons which have universities.

The decision is also expected to lead to an increase in government subsidies to the university of Ticino.

The university, which has three faculties - architecture, communications and economic sciences - was established in 1996.

Eight other cantons in Switzerland have universities. They are: Basel, Berne, Fribourg, Geneva, Neuchatel, St Gallen, Vaud and Zurich.

swissinfo with agencies

Neuer Inhalt

Horizontal Line

SWI on Instagram

SWI on Instagram

SWI on Instagram

subscription form

Form for signing up for free newsletter.

Sign up for our free newsletters and get the top stories delivered to your inbox.

Click here to see more newsletters