New Swiss Talents - The Camerata of Berne and leader Thomas Füri (NST 11/1982)

MUSICA HELVETICA NST 11/1982 Members of The Camerata of Berne with leader Thomas Füri (left) swissmusic

The Camerata of Berne, one of Switzerland's most outstanding chamber ensembles, was founded in 1962. Formed originally from a group of young musicians studying at the Berne Conservatory, the ensemble is often described as an orchestra of soloists.

This content was published on April 1, 2008 - 13:09

The Camerata demands a wide-ranging repertoire extending from early Baroque to the contemporary, comprising both established and little known works. The ensemble has performed extensively in Europe and has toured the United States and the Far East. The present Camerata of Berne is comprised mainly of a new generation of young talents.

Musical content

1. Unico Graf von Wassenaer: Vivace (4th movement). From Concerto in E flat major
The Camerata of Berne; Thomas Füri, leader
This work was longtime attributed to Pergolesi / Ricciotti.
2. Ignaz Holzbauer: Allegro spiritoso (3rd movement). From Sinfonia concertante in A major
The Camerata of Berne; Thomas Füri, leader
Soloists: Thomas Füri, violin; Christoph Schiller, viola; Thomas Demenga, cello
3. Edward Elgar: Allegro piacevolo (1st movement). From Serenade in E minor for String Orchestra op. 20
The Camerata of Berne; Thomas Füri, leader
4. Paul Müller: Allegro (1st movement). From Concerto for two Violins, String Orchestra and Harpischord op. 61
The Camerata of Berne; Thomas Füri, leader
Soloists: Thomas Füri, violin; Sophie Paul-Arbenz, violin; Marc Philippe Meystre, harpischord

Production information

Musica Helvetica. New Swiss Talents NST 11. The Camerata of Berne. Thomas Füri (leader). Produced 1982 for SBC / SRI by Colin Farmer.

Background information

Switzerland is a small alpine nation shaped and influenced by great cultural cross-currents that have swept through Europe over centuries. Out of elements of diversity, the people of this country have forged a distinctly Swiss identity. And music is one of its most eloquent expressions. "Musica Helvetica" explores different facets of music in Switzerland from its earliest beginnings to the latest works of modern Swiss composers, from folk music to rock and jazz. This historical series span the years 1973 to 1998. These recordings are not available.

In compliance with the JTI standards

In compliance with the JTI standards

More: SWI certified by the Journalism Trust Initiative

You can find an overview of ongoing debates with our journalists here. Please join us!

If you want to start a conversation about a topic raised in this article or want to report factual errors, email us at

Sort by

Change your password

Do you really want to delete your profile?

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Almost finished... We need to confirm your email address. To complete the subscription process, please click the link in the email we just sent you.

Discover our weekly must-reads for free!

Sign up to get our top stories straight into your mailbox.

The SBC Privacy Policy provides additional information on how your data is processed.